CLUB MANAGEMENT. (General Management Committee) (GMC)

The Club Bowling Committee is responsible for arranging the bowling programme through the League Secretary, Fixtures Secretary and a Competitions Secretary and may elect sub-committees as required or co-opt additional members for specific tasks. Subject to the Company Articles, the GMC exercises full control over the membership of KIBC. I.e., Joining or Leaving KIBC, Disciplinary matters, Disputes, Resolutions, Control of the Constitution and AGM/SGM proceedings. Any disputes should be written and sent to the club secretary for discussion at the next GMC meeting.

The GMC consists of Chairman, Deputy Chairman, Club Secretary, Club Treasurer, Devon County Ladies Indoor Bowls Association (DCLIBA) Representative, Devon County Indoor Bowls Association (DCIBA) Representative, Captains (Ladies & Men’s), Vice Captains (Ladies & Men’s), Fixtures Secretary, Competitions Secretary, League Secretary, One Lady and One Gentleman Members Representative, Club Social Secretary and Head of Catering Committee. A total of 17 posts. Members of the GMC may also serve on the Board of Directors.

The GMC meets as necessary, on the advice of the Chairman. The minutes of these meetings are made available for all Members to view on the Club notice board. The GMC elects a President every three years, as the senior representative of the Club, who will endeavour to attend official functions and important matches.

The Officers and Members of the GMC are elected at the AGM each year. Any club member, wishing to seek election to the GMC, must have been an active member of the club for a minimum of 18 months prior to such election and be aware of their responsibilities to the Club members.

President Jenny Rhodes
Fixture Secretary Jan Hines
Chair Richard Dewberry Social Secretary Cathy Dewberry
Vice Chair Bob Gubb Competitions Secretary Jan Hines
Club Secretary Allyson Hayes Ladies Representative Allyson Hayes
Treasurer Margaret Headon Men's Representative Mike Price
Mens Captain Don Harris DCLIBA Rep. Jan Hines
Mens Vice Captain Colin Atkins
DCIBA/EIBA Rep. George Taylor
Ladies Captain Tina Miller
Head of Catering Sue Atkins
Ladies Vice Captain Karen Johnson
Safeguarding Officer Mike Price
League Secretary Richard Dewberry

Other Non - GMC Members without voting rights

Team Selection Committees are elected by the GMC at the start of each season and are responsible for selecting teams for representative matches.

A Liaison Officer, nominated by the GMC, attends the monthly Board meetings, to provide contact between the two organisations.

Club members are encouraged to join sub-committees and to assist in whatever capacity necessary for the smooth running of the Club.

In the absence of the Captains or Vice-Captains a Match Secretary organises the fixture on the day.

Welfare Officers (One male and one female) are elected by the GMC.

Safeguarding Officer.  A volunteer who has completed the required courses, supported by the GMC, to provide guidance to the Board, GMC and Welfare Officers and provide liaison between Club and DCIBA as necessary and report solely to the Chairman of the GMC.

About Us


Based just a short walk from the golden beach and sparkling sea at Westward Ho!, Kingsley IBC has four indoor rinks, a social room, kitchen, bar, changing facilities and toilets.

latest news

There was quite a turnout for the 'Wine & Wisdom' evening at Kingsley on Saturday. Nine teams battled hard, fuelled by wine, cheese, crisps and the odd pork pie. Eventual winners were visitors to the Club, 'North Devon Numpties' with a score of 4...

Finding Us

Address: Edwards Drive,
Westward Ho!
Bideford, Devon,
EX39 1XW

What 3 Words Location:

Call Us : 01237 472507
Mail Us : [email protected]

Office Opening Hours : 
Winter - Oct - Mid April
09:00 to 13:00 Mon/Wed/Thurs
09:00 to 12:00 Tue & Fri
Summer - Mid April - End Sept
09:00 to 12:00 Mon - Friday